The company was incorporated on the 4th July 1895 and to this day carries on the business of hoteliers, giving it a sound track record. It operates as the Hydro Hotel, Mount Road, Eastbourne, East Sussex.

The Board consists of five non-executive directors; there are approximately 420 shareholders.

The shares of Hydro Hotel, Eastbourne, PLC, are quoted on the Nex Exchange. If you wish to buy or sell shares in Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, PLC please contact your own stockbroker.

Alternatively, you can contact Stocktrade, a division of Alliance Trust Savings. Contact details: 6th Floor, Atria One, 144 Morrison Street, Edinburgh, EH3 8BR. Telephone 0131 240 0400. Please quote “Company Schemes Dial and Deal”. No executor dealings are allowed.

The company’s share registrars are Neville Registrars Limited, Neville House, 18 Laurel Lane, Halesowen, West Midlands. B63 3DA, telephone 0121 585 1131, email web address

For the minutes of the 2017 AGM please click HERE

There is also a shareholder’s discount scheme where shareholders who have acquired at least 200 shares qualify for a special 10% shareholder discount on the following:

  • All overnight accommodation tariffs for the Hydro Hotel including special breaks (excluding Christmas and New Year, plus events such as opera dinners or guest speaker luncheons)
  • Your dining bill in the Crystal restaurant for luncheon or dinner
  • Shareholders personal functions, for example weddings and anniversaries
  • Food ordered from the lounge or conservatory menu with a minimum spend of £10
  • Hair treatments in the salon
  • Beauty and massage treatments provided by City Holistic at the Hydro Hotel.

Company Information

Principal activity

The principal activity of the company is the operation of the Hydro hotel in the United Kingdom.

Company registration

Hydro Hotel, Eastbourne, PLC is a company registered in England and Wales No: 44514, regulated under the Companies Act 2006, VAT registered No: 190 3023 96. The Company was admitted for trading in 1980 to a market which pre-dated NEX Exchange  and for which there is no historic admission document available.

Registered office and trading address:

Mount Road, Eastbourne, East Sussex BN20 7HZ

Advisors & Directors

Directors and their biographical details

G C King – non-executive chairman of the board, appointed to the board on 13 January 2004. Mr King has a Masters degree in physics and economics from the University of St Andrews and is a qualified chartered accountant with the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland. He worked as an insurance, audit and risk management specialist in Canada for several years. He returned to London in 1984 to take a succession of senior roles at the Lloyds Insurance Market for ten years. Since then he has held a number of directorship and consultancy roles in the City and elsewhere. He brings to the board wide experience of business, finance and general management at board level, good City connections, and expertise in insurance matters.

C P Freeman – non-executive, appointed to the board on 11 January 2005. Mr Freeman is a chartered accountant with the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Taxation. He worked for four years in London with Binder Hamlyn before joining Grant Thornton and becoming a partner for six years. He is a Consultant at the company’s advisory accountants, Plummer Parsons, Chartered Accountants.

C J Bean – non-executive, appointed to the board on 10 June 2014. Mr Bean has a Bachelor of Laws degree from Southampton University and is a qualified practicing solicitor. He is a partner at Gaby Hardwicke Solicitors where he sits on the board of management, with the role of director of business development. He oversees legal matters and Health & Safety policy for the company.

J D Tuhey – non-executive, appointed to the board on 31 July 2014. Mr Tuhey has an honours degree in economics from Durham University and a post graduate diploma in building management from University of Westminster. Mr Tuhey is the commercial claims manager at CC Flint & Co Ltd. He oversees property matters and insurances for the company.

Mrs S A Gausden – non executive, appointed to the board on 13 December 2016. Mrs Gausden has a History degree from Royal Holloway College, University of London and is a chartered accountant, a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. She is Private Client Director at the company’s advisory accountants, Plummer Parsons,  Chartered Accountants, and has been Company Secretary since April 2016.

Investor Relations

Number of shares in issue

600,000 £1 ordinary shares, of which 399,203 are deemed under NEX Exchange rules to be in public hands

List of substantial shareholdings Shareholding Percentage of shares in issue
Sir Ronald Brieley 65,000 10.83%
Mrs E M Foster 60,565 10.09%
Mrs P A Gray 55,555 9.26%
Mrs B Halifax 18,141 3.02%

Company Reports

Published annual reports for the three previous financial years


Circulars sent to shareholders in the last 12 months
15/12/2016  Hydro Hotel, Eastbourne, Plc Dividend Declaration
13/07/2016  Half Year ended 30 April 2017

Risk warning disclaimer: The Company’s share price may go down as well as up and the investor may not get back the amount invested.  However, there is only one market maker and the investor’s ability to trade the shares may therefore be restricted. Past performance is no guide to future performance.

The Directors of Hydro Hotel, Eastbourne, PLC accept responsibility for this announcement, which has been approved for the purposes of the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 by Mazars Corporate Finance Limited, Tower Bridge House, St Katharine’s Way, London E1W 1DD who are authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority for investment business.